The Metropolitan Soil and Water Conservation Districts Technical Service Area Joint Powers Board, also referred to as Metro Conservation Districts or TSA 4, is one of eight technical service area joint powers entities formed in Minnesota under authority of section 471.59., Minnesota Statutes. TSA 4 is composed of eleven Members, including: Anoka Conservation District, Carver County Soil and Water Conservation District, Chisago Soil and Water Conservation District, Dakota County Soil and Water Conservation District, Hennepin County, Isanti Soil and Water Conservation District, Ramsey County, Scott Soil and Water Conservation District, Sherburne Soil and Water Conservation District, Washington Conservation District, and Wright Soil and Water Conservation District. The purpose of the TSA is to serve as a forum for members to identify issues and opportunities regarding the protection and conservation of natural resources.

TSA 4 serves as an entity under which its members can jointly plan, develop and implement programs and activities for resource conservation that are mutually beneficial by increasing capacity, efficiency and/or outcomes. Organization of the TSA 4 is defined in it's By-laws, and its programs and activities are guided by a multi-year work plan and budget.


Operations of the TSA 4 are supported by membership dues, while programs are funded primarily by grants through the Board of Water and Soil Resources, from both the state's general fund and the Clean Water, Land and Legacy Amendment.

Upcoming Events

Executive Committee meeting has been scheduled for Friday July 16, 2021, starting at 10:00 AM. The agenda for the meeting will include review and approval of changes to the workplan and budget for the The Children's Water Festival. It will be hosted virtually via Zoom. Please contact Scott SWCD at 952-5425 for information on options for participation.

The next regular meeting of the MCD Board is scheduled for August 25, 2021.